>   News   >   How To Delete Facebook Forever

How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account

Johnnie Rivera | 20 September 2018

Delete your Facebook profileMaybe you are tired of constantly getting updates about amazing holidays your friends are having; or you’re bored of seeing the same posts about sleeping cats, life hacks or how to invest in cryptocurrency. Whatever your reasons, plenty of people have considered deleting their Facebook account and removing their social media profile altogether.

Social media can be a real time suck, and if you’d rather spend your time playing casino games, seeing your friends face to face, or simply enjoying not being online and constantly checking for Likes, getting rid of Facebook is not a bad idea.

But this is not a decision to take lightly. Our social media identity is tightly wrapped up with our personal and professional lives. However, if you are ready to take the plunge, this is how to you can go about removing your account.

The Difference Between Deactivation and Deletion

It is important to note that there are two ways to remove yourself from Facebook. One way is to deactivate your account, and the other is to delete your account altogether. So, what is the difference?

Deactivating your account means you are temporarily removing yourself as an active user. You will no longer be visible on Facebook and you will not be sent any updates, friend requests or any links for as long as you choose. However, all your data, settings, account status updates, history and friends list will all be saved in Facebook data archives in case you want to reactivate your account at a later date.

To Deactivate

If you change your mind, you can simply reactivate, and everything will go back to the way it was. It will be like you never left. Your wallpaper will be the same, your status will be the same as when you left, and all your friends will be there posting the same stories. If this doesn’t appeal to you, then deletion is a more permanent way to go.

Deleting your Facebook account is a “no going back” solution to your social media woes. Deleting your account means your account will permanently disappear along with all your messages, photos, status updates, albums, links and friends lists. You will not be able to activate your account again after the cooling off period.

Breaking up with Facebook Saving Your Data

If you are serious about deleting your account, it is a good idea to download a copy of your data before you delete your entire social media life history. You can then save this data on your computer, and it will include all your messages, photos and memories.

To download your data

Once you have downloaded all your personal data, photos, comments, friends, groups and so on, you can go ahead and delete your account.

To Delete your Account

Once done, Facebook will delay the deletion of your account for up to two weeks. If you attempt to log in at any point during this time, the deletion will be cancelled, and you will have to start the process again.

What Do You Leave Behind?

In theory, deleting your account removes your page entirely, however, messages sent to friends will still appear in their message section, as it is part of their account too. According to Facebook your page data may be stored on the backup database for a period of time, but in the end, your account will disappear into the ether forever.

Sources: